Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/storysno/public_html/includes/stsn_db.php on line 8
StorySnoops Children's Book Reviews | Cinderella Smith #2: The More the Merrier | Stephanie Barden
[loading book info...]
Quick Find



Childrens book reviews by StorySnoops, judge a book by more than its cover, serving fresh scoops of new books for you every day
home
browse button
blog button
about us button
FAQ button

Book Detail
Buy from Amazon
Buy from IndieBound

Cinderella Smith #2: The More the Merrier
by Stephanie Barden
PUBL. RECOMMENDED AGE: 8-12
PUBLISHER: HarperCollins
YEAR PUBLISHED: 2012
NO. PAGES: 144
GENRE{S}: Realistic Fiction
MAIN CHARACTER GENDER: Female
SERIES: Cinderella Smith
PREQUEL: Cinderella Smith
SEQUEL: Cinderella Smith #3: The Super Secret Mystery
ISBN: 0062004409
READ & REVIEWED BY: Eden - StorySnoop


The Story
Cinderella Smith #2: The More the Merrier—Book Review

The school spelling bee is coming up and Cinderella and her friend Erin intend to win it for the third grade. They are studying happily until class mean girl, and Cinderella's former friend, Rosemary T. starts picking on her, saying hurtful things. Cinderella decides to give Rosemary the silent treatment, because "if you can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all," right? But Cinderella's Aunt Flora encourages her to instead have a "what's what" with Rosemary, and tell her how she really feels. But how can Cinderella possibly stand up to the class bully? With her charming personality, and the support of her good friends--that's how!
The Scoop
Cinderella Smith #2: The More the Merrier—Book Review
{spoiler alert}

Fans of Ramona and Junie B. will enjoy this series, featuring third-grader Cinderella, and her positive attitude about problem solving. In The More the Merrier, Cinderella is busy getting ready for the spelling bee when Rosemary decides to start picking on her, mostly calling her weird for being babyish and young. Cinderella decides to try ignoring her, and refuses to speak to Rosemary. However, her aunt advises communicating about how Rosemary's actions make her feel to see if that might be a better solution. When all is said and done, it becomes apparent to Cinderella that Rosemary may be treating her this way because Rosemary's own sisters are calling her a baby at home. Cinderella has a wonderfully supportive friend in Erin, and there is a nice message about taking pride in being different and interesting. Cinderella Smith is a great choice for younger readers, especially those who might be in need of a fun role model to help tackle sticky friend situations.
Post Your Own Review
{0}
SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS

{be the first to share your thoughts about this book}
Content Keywords
Cinderella Smith #2: The More the Merrier—Book Review

{Click on a keyword to find other books containing the same subject matter}

Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates
Follow and Share
Twitter Icon
Facebook Icon
Pinterest Icon
RSS Icon

Check It Out